Wayanad District came into existence on 1st November, 1980 as the 12th District of Kerala consisting of Mananthavady, Sulthanbathery and Vythiri Taluks. The name Wayanad is derived from Vayal Nadu which means the land of paddy fields. It is a picturesque plateau situated at a height between 700 meters and 2100 meters above the mean sea level nested among the mountains of the Western Ghats on the Eastern portion of North Kerala and on the sides of Tamil Nadu and Karnataka States. The District was carved out from the then Kozhikode and Kannur Districts. About of area is under forest. The culture of Wayanad is mainly tribal oriented. Though considered as backward, this District is perhaps one of the biggest foreign exchange earners of the State, with its production of cash crops like pepper,cardamom, coffee, tea, spices and other condiments.

General Info

The district stands 1st in pepper cultivation and coffee plantation in the state. It has no railway line ....

Read More »


Kalpetta is the headquarters of the Wayanad District Administration with Civil Station and other main offices.

Read More »


The District Tourism Promotion Council (DTPC) is set up with the purpose of fully exploiting the tourism

Read More »


Agriculture is the principal occupation of the people in the Wayanad District. Hence Wayanad district ....

Read More »

District Emergency Operating Centre Wayanad

Toll Free : 1077

DEOC Wayanad:
04936 204151, 9207985027

Taluk Control Rooms:
Sulthan Bathery : 04936 220296
Vythiri: 04936 255229
Mananthavadi: 04935 240231

KSEB Helpline:
1912, 04936 202398

This Site Designed, Developed & Maintained by National Informatics Centre
Government of India
Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
Department of Electronics and Information Technology
Collectorate,Wayanad,Kerala State